PESS wins Athena SWAN award for gender equality progress

The PESS department at the University of Limerick has been honoured for creating a level playing field for academic careers. The department was recently honoured by the Athena SWAN Charter for its work in the battle against gender inequality and received a bronze departmental award.

Athena SWAN (Scientific Women’s Academic Network) is a charter established by the British Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) and implemented by the UK Resource Centre.

It recognises and celebrates good practice towards the advancement of gender equality and specifically representation, progression and success for all.

Members of the PESS Athena SWAN Committee include Prof. Mary O’Sullivan (Chair), Prof. Ann MacPhail (Head of Department), Prof. Drew Harrison, Dr. Ross Anderson, Dr. Orla Power, Ms. Ursula Fryene, Dr. Tom Comyns, Ms. Rosie Daniels, Dr. Mark Campbell, Ms. Sharon Barrett, Cillian McDowell (PhD Student) Pauline Pavlavicute (UG Student).

The submission process is in itself rigorous and time-consuming, and all participating institutions have demonstrated a commitment to gender equality’ – RUTH GILLIGAN (Athena SWAN Manager Equlaity Challenge Unit).

Tagged with: