PESS receives Athena Swan Bronze Award

Congratulations to all the members of the PESS Athena Swan Committee who received the Athena Swan Bronze Award on behalf of PESS at the awards ceremony in Dublin last week. This is a tremendous achievement for the Department. Special thanks go to Prof. Mary O’Sullivan who Chaired the committee at the time of the award and also to Dr, Mark Campbell who has taken on the role as Chair.

This award acknowledges the commitment of PESS to improve gender inequalities. It recognises and celebrates good practice towards the advancement of gender equality and specifically representation, progression and success for all. In particular, the charter was set up to encourage the advancement of careers for women in STEM, and higher education and research.

Athena SWAN is a charter established by the British Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) and implemented by the UK Resource Centre.

Members of the PESS Athena Swan Committee were as follows: Professor Mary O’Sullivan (Chair), Professor Ann MacPhail (HoD), Dr. Mark Campbell, Dr. Tom Comyns, Professor Drew Harrison, Rosemary Daniel, Dr. Ross Anderson, Ursula Freyne, Cillian McDowell, Sharon Barrett, Dr. Orla Power-Grant, Paulina Pavlaviciute and Louise Griffin.


Tagged with: